Enhancing my Developer Relations skills

Enhancing my Developer Relations skills

·

2 min read

Earlier in the year, I saw a tweet by Kenny about him launching a program to help software developers who were looking to upskill as Developer advocates, it piqued my interest but I put off filling out the form because I was really occupied with work at the time and knew I would not be capable of fully committing to both tasks at hand coupled with a few other commitments and so I missed being a part of the first cohort of DX Mentorship.

Fast forward to six months later, I saw a tweet by Kenny in which he posted a link to a form for the waitlist for the second cohort of the DX Mentorship program, and without hesitating I filled the form right on the spot. It took me a couple of minutes but no way was I going to miss the opportunity again.

I signed up for the DX mentorship program because I already have a background in Developer Relations, to be specific I have over two years of experience in various areas of Developer relations which are: Developer Community Management and Developer Education. These are experiences I have gathered managing the Frontend Foxes Organisation and leading the Nigerian chapter and also being a Technical Instructor at the Frontend Foxes School, volunteering with SheCode Africa as a mentor. I had been in search of a mentorship program or a community for Developer Relations Engineers - It was during this period in my search that I came across the DevRel Collective community.

After signing up for the program, on the 9th of November, 2022 I received an email confirming an acceptance into the program, I was pleased. Being a part of this program to me is about following a structured and detailed pathway to learning the fundamentals of developer relations with the guide and mentorship of Kenny, a senior developer experience engineer. I will be documenting all I learn and the tasks being given to me during the duration of this program and I look forward to my progression in this career path.